About the Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine (named "Faculty of Medicine and Odontology" from July 1, 1999, to March 31, 2004) is an organization for research and education in the field of medicine, odontology and health care.

There are 13 departments, 2 science centres and 12 undergraduate programmes. The faculty employs about 1 200 persons, among them about 45 % are teachers/researchers, and has about 3 400 undergraduate and 600 postgraduate students.

Within the faculty are two of the oldest parts of Umeå University: The Dentistry programme (opened in 1956) and the Medicine program (1957). In 1999, the former Faculty of Odontology was incorporated as a departement in the Faculty of Medicine. The third main part o the faculty are the health care programmes — among them Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, and Biomedical Laboratory Science — transfered from the Västerbotten County Council starting 1997 and entirely 2003.

A slide presentation av the faculty in English is available in Powerpoint and pdf formats (right column).

Page Editor: Lena Åminne

Print page

Where is it?

Find the location on Umeå University's interactive map

Interactive map

Contact Information

Dean's Office, Faculty of Medicine
Umeå University
S-901 87 Umeå 

Visiting Address
Dean's Office, Campus Umeå